Connect with us

smart e-cup

smart e-cup Drivers to Receive Italian Motorsport Awards

Champions from smart e-cup to be presented with prestigious Italian motorsport awards…

Photo: LPD Italia

Champions from the 2019 smart EQ fortwo e-cup season will be honored at the Italian motorsport federation’s awards event next month.

Series champion Vittorio Ghirelli will be joined by the winners of other awards presented to smart e-cup drivers after a successful second season of the Italian single-make electric touring car championship.

They will be presented with the awards at ACI Sport’s Motorsport Champions Awards (Premiazione dei Campioni dell’Automobilismo) at Monza Eni Circuit on Feb. 7-8.

The event will be hosted by ACI president Angelo Sticchi Damiani and celebrates the successes of a number of Italian motorsport championships.

Last year, the smart e-cup became an official Italian championship, with the full title ACI Sport Italian Alternative Energy Championship (Campionato Italiano Energie Alternative ACI Sport).

In addition to Mercedes-Benz Roma driver Ghirelli being presented as overall 2019 champion, other awards will be handed out to Junior Trophy winners Gianalberto Coldani and Riccardo Longo, Gentleman Trophy winner Antonino Cannavo, Ladies Trophy winner Silvia Sellani and Rookie Trophy winner Tomas Denis Calvagni.

Further news about the smart e-cup’s 2020 plans is expected to be communicated in the coming weeks.

E-racing365 reported in November that plans are in the works for an international expansion of the platform and a possible Italian hill climb series.

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist who is e-racing365's Managing Editor and also European Editor for Sportscar365. He is a student of Politics and International Relations at the University of Birmingham. Contact Jake

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


More in smart e-cup