Connect with us

Other Series

Rutter Wins TT Zero, Lap Records Continue Falling

Michael Rutter takes fifth win in electric TT Zero race with new lap record…

Photo: Dave Kneen/Pacemaker Press

Michael Rutter won Thursday’s all-electric SES TT Zero race as part of the Isle of Man TT Races, breaking his own lap record in the process.

The race, which celebrated its tenth year having been part of the TT since 2010, is held over one lap of the 37.73-mile circuit and reserved for fully electric bikes.

Rutter kept up his streak of winning every TT Zero race he has participated in, scoring his fifth win to add to previous successes in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2018.

His lap time this year was 18:34.172, translating to an average speed of 121.909 mph, putting him 0.784 seconds and 0.085 mph clear of his race-winning performance last year.

Rutter’s Bathams Mugen teammate John McGuinness finished runner-up with a time 8.566 seconds slower, while Ian Lougher completed the podium on his Team Mirai machine.

The new record speed of 121.909 mph shows the considerable improvement made by the electric bikes over the course of ten races, compared to the winning time in 2010 of 96.820 mph and 23:22.890.

Rutter was the first rider to break the 100 mph barrier on an electric bike in 2012 and first to breach 120 mph last year.

The race has been dominated by Rutter and McGuinness’ Mugen team in recent years, with both riders, and Bruce Anstey, all winning races for the Japanese-based factory outfit.

Rutter has the quickest pace throughout the race and held a four-second lead at the opening Glen Helen timing point, although McGuinness did manage to close the gap to just over three seconds by Ballaugh.

Twenty-three time TT race winner McGuinness broke the Sulby speed trap at 176.14 mph to Rutter’s 173.86, but this wasn’t good enough to take the lead from his teammate, who was five seconds ahead by the third loop at the Ramsey Hairpin.

Davey Todd had been set for third until he stopped after Ramsey, allowing Lougher to move into the final podium position.

Todd, riding a Nottingham University bike, replaced his teammate Daley Mathison who was killed in the Superbike race earlier in the week.


Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist who is e-racing365's Managing Editor and also European Editor for Sportscar365. He is a student of Politics and International Relations at the University of Birmingham. Contact Jake

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Avatar


    June 10, 2019 at 4:49 am

    We need the manufacturers to come in. The university teams shouldn’t be doing this in 2019. It’s not a science experiment any more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


More in Other Series