Connect with us

Extreme E

Senna Joins Extreme E Drivers’ Program

2017 FIA WEC LMP2 champion Bruno Senna has joined the Extreme E Drivers’ Club…

Photo: MPS Agency

Extreme E, which launched its Drivers’ Program last week with a number of leading names in motorsport has also confirmed that Bruno Senna will join its lineup.

The 2017 FIA World Endurance LMP2 champion is the latest addition in a roster of names to officially express their interest in the electric off-road competition.

The inaugural Extreme E season is set to get underway in early 2021 with an aim to raise awareness of global environmental challenges.

“Extreme E is a completely different challenge to anything out there,” said Senna.

“The series’ goal is to raise awareness about the troubles facing its race locations. Racing around cities, you’re well aware of everything that’s going on – it’s close to people’s realities.

“Extreme E will be racing in locations far away from people’s day-to-day lives and putting them front-and-center.

“We all have to do something. Every little change contributes to the cause and the lifestyle we have nowadays is not sustainable.

“Anything you can do, such as saving water and recycling, can help. We hope to bring this awareness to a wide audience. It’s such an important cause.”

Senna is anticipating a tough task in adapting to the challenges thrown up by Extreme E’s combination of locations, terrains and a short, sharp head-to-head race format as well as its E-SUV competition vehicle, the ODYSSEY 21.

“It’s hard to know what to expect from the E-SUV. It’ll be very interesting to drive something so different and unique – I’ve never done anything like this before,” he said.

“Hopefully my experience will serve me well. I’ve done a lot of off-road racing as a kid so racing on different terrains are not new to me but this will be a new type of racing – I can’t wait.”

The Extreme E Drivers’ Programme is designed to promote professional drivers and assist teams and prospective entries.

Organizers will recommend prospective competitors from the program to teams, but they will also have the autonomy to select drivers from outside the pool.

Alongside Senna, inaugural programme members include multiple FIA World Rally Championship title-winner Sébastian Ogier, FIA World Rallycross front-runners Andreas Bakkerud and Kevin and Timmy Hansen, double DTM champion and FIA World Rallycross driver Timo Scheider, W Series winner Jamie Chadwick, leading female racers Katherine Legge and Mikaela Åhlin-Kottulinsky, 2016 ABB FIA Formula E champion Lucas di Grassi; fellow Formula E racer and Le Mans winner, Andre Lotterer and Sacha Prost, brother of Formula E race winner Nico Prost.

Further additions to the program are planned to be announced shortly in addition to sporting regulations and a full calendar.

The latest e-racing and industry news from trusted newswires, series, manufacturer and team sources.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


More in Extreme E