Connect with us

e-Trophee Andros

Ferrier Wins Round 2 Despite Super Finale Retirement

Christophe Ferrier wins Round 2 at Isola 2000 despite retirement in Super Finale…

Photo: Bruno Bade

Christopher Ferrier became the first e-Trophee Andros round winner of the season not to win the Super Finale, having retired from the main race of the day but accumulating enough points at earlier stages.

Ferrier was crowned winner of Round 2 at Isola 2000 on Saturday evening, driving his Andros Sport 01 entered by CMR.

His main points haul came from winning the first of two qualifying races before taking the maximum six points in Super Pole with the fastest time of the session.

Starting from pole, Ferrier held onto the lead early in the six-lap Super Finale but ended up in a close battle with Franck Lagorce that ended with both cars in the snow wall on the third lap.

Neither car could be recovered, forcing both drivers to retire.

This allowed Lagorce’s Yvan Muller Racing teammate Yann Ehrlacher to come through into the lead after a strong charge up through the field from the last row on the grid.

Ehrlacher finished 0.738 seconds ahead of Aurelien Panis, who remains championship leader, while Quentin Giordano completed the podium.

As a result of Ferrier’s results, the final classification for the fifth round of the season is unusually different to the order in the Super Finale.

Ferrier finished on 62 points, comprising 45 in qualifying for a first place finish, six in Super Pole, and 11 for finishing sixth in the Finale.

Aurelien Panis was classified second in the round’s standings, two points behind Ferrier, while his father Olivier places third.

Lagorce, Ehrlacher and Giordano complete the top six as the remaining drivers in the Super Finale.

The Finale, held to decide positions seventh and back, was won by Friday’s overall winner Jean-Baptiste Dubourg, who didn’t manage to make it through into the Super Finale this time, and places seventh in the final standings.

Louis Rousset claimed the Elite class win in the Sebastien Loeb Racing Andros Sport 01 he shares with Olivier Panis but finished third in that class’ Super Finale, which was won by teammate Jeremy Sarhy.

RESULTS: Round 2 (Elite Pro)
RESULTS: Round 2 (Elite)

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist who is e-racing365's Managing Editor and also European Editor for Sportscar365. He is a student of Politics and International Relations at the University of Birmingham. Contact Jake

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


More in e-Trophee Andros