Connect with us


Race Format Established for Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY

Race weekend formats for new all-electric Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY established…

Image: Jaguar

The race format for the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY has been established ahead of its debut later this year.

The new single-make series, featuring identically prepared all-electric racers, will have a 25-minute plus one lap sprint race on ABB FIA Formula E Championship weekends.

Qualifying will occur earlier in the day, with two Free Practice sessions scheduled on the day prior, depending on track availability.

“It’s so tight [on a Formula E weekend] with whatever street circuit we go to,” Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY Championship Manager Marion Barnaby told e-racing365.

“We’re working with Formula E closely to see where we can get our allocated time.

“We have specific timings we’ve set to, and that at the moment is 25 minutes plus one lap.”

While set to feature on ten Formula E weekends, Barnaby said the championship’s schedule has yet to be determined as it waits on the finalization of the 2018-19 Formula E calendar, which could see up to 12 events.

She did, however, indicate that the season will likely kick off on the season-opening Formula E weekend, which is currently slated for December.

A pre-season testing program, including a “climatization” test for drivers, will also be scheduled.

“We’ll be going through training as well,” Barnaby said. “That will be over a couple of days, then we’ll do additional days prior going into the race season.”

Barnaby indicated the race car, featuring the same powertrain and 90 kWh battery as the recently launched I-PACE production vehicle, should begin on-track testing in the coming weeks.

Leading British motorsport firm M-Sport has been linked to the operations and technical support for the race car and series, which will be run in an arrive-and-drive format.

Considerable Interest in New Series

Barnaby is confident of reaching a full 20-car grid for the inaugural season, having received considerable interest since its announcement last year.

“It’s been very good; we’ve got a lot of interest,” she said. “We’re just speaking to all of them now and working through the lists with them and going through the program.”

Rahal Letterman Lanigan has been the first confirmed team, with the Bobby Rahal-led organization planning a two-car effort.

Additional team announcements are expected in the coming weeks.

“We’re working on that now,” Barnaby said. “Because we’re very busy with car builds and everything else, we’re just clustering them together rather than sending [announcements] out individually.”

Barnaby said the series will be open to drivers holding at least an FIA International C license.

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of e-racing365. Dagys, who launched the industry-leading Sportscar365 in 2013, spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for Channel, and contributes to other publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.