Connect with us

Formula E

Wehrlein Takes Second Pole of Season in Paris

Pascal Wehrlein scores pole for Paris E-Prix; Rowland qualifies second…

Photo: Michelin

Pascal Wehrlein scored his second career ABB FIA Formula E Championship pole position with the quickest time in Super Pole for this afternoon’s Paris E-Prix.

The Mahindra Racing driver, who claimed his first pole at the Mexico City E-Prix in February, was the penultimate person to set a time during the top six shootout after he progressed from the third of four preliminary qualifying groups.

Wehrlein’s time of 1:00.383 held out as the best after Nissan e.dams driver Oliver Rowland, who was the last to go out, dropped three tenths of a second in his second sector.

Rowland will start next to Wehrlein on the front row of the grid after turning in a time of 1:00.535 while his Nissan teammate Sebastien Buemi will start from third.

Robin Frijns set the fourth-best time in Super Pole for Envision Virgin, ahead of Venturi’s Felipe Massa and championship leader Jerome d’Ambrosio in the other Mahindra machine.

D’Ambrosio progressed to the final shootout despite being a part of the first group stage bracket which has generally proven to be less favorable in other E-Prix events this season.

No drivers in the fourth group made the top six with the quickest of the bunch being Maximilian Guenther who placed seventh for the GEOX Dragon team.

DS Techeetah’s Andre Lotterer set the eighth-best qualifying time ahead of Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler teammates Daniel Abt and Lucas di Grassi.

Sam Bird qualified 15th in his first on-track action since bringing out the red flags after an accident during early morning practice.

BMW i Andretti Motorsport drivers Antonio Felix da Costa, who is second to d’Ambrosio in the standings, and Alexander Sims struggled in the preliminary runs and will start from 16th and 17th respectively.

Jose Maria Lopez set the fastest first sector of the group stages but will start from the back of the grid after the GEOX Dragon driver overstepped his entry into Turn 3 and dropped six seconds.

Round eight of the 2018-19 ABB FIA Formula E Championship is set to get underway just after 4:00 p.m. local time (10:00 a.m. EDT).

Daniel Lloyd is a UK-based reporter for Sportscar365 and e-racing365, with a focus on the FIA World Endurance Championship and various electric racing series.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Formula E