Connect with us

Formula E

Vergne Promoted to Pole After Penalties

Jean-Eric Vergne will start from pole position as multiple penalties alter the start grid…

Photo: Formula E

Jean-Eric Vergne will start from pole position in this afternoon’s Punta del Este E-Prix after Lucas di Grassi, Alex Lynn and Mitch Evans were all penalized after qualifying.

While di Grassi, Lynn and Turvey were all dropped for striking the bollard and exceeding track limits at the penultimate chicane, Evans was sent to 16th on the grid because of a weight-related issue in post qualifying technical checks.

The Panasonic Jaguar Racing driver qualified in third position but must now start from 20th for this afternoon’s Punta del Este E-Prix after his overall weight distribution was found to be 300grammes out. The team suspected the discrepancy came after a battery change to his car prior to the qualifying session.

One of the three drivers that were given penalties for the track limits violation in qualifying, Alex Lynn, spoke out against the issues which saw himself, di Grassi and Turvey penalised.

“The bollard, in my opinion, was used as a reference,” DS Virgin Racing driver Alex Lynn told e-racing365 before the penalties were made public.

“Obviously, no-one’s going to straight-line the thing. Obviously, all three of us who touched it made an effort to not hit it. If anything, I lost time, but it looked quite spectacular!”

Lynn stated that drivers were not told at the drivers’ briefing that penalties would be handed out for touching the bollard.

“What was verbalized to us was that it’s there as a reference. Nothing was ever said about ‘If you hit it, your lap is taken away’, he explained.

“In my opinion, I would be surprised if I get my lap taken away, because that was never a thing. It was there as a reference and the track limit is the wall. That’s always been the Formula E mantra.”

Dragon’s Jose Maria Lopez was also penalized and will start from 18th on the grid.

The final grid for this afternoon’s race, which gets underway at 4 p.m. local time, can be viewed here.

Sam Smith is e-racing365's Formula E Editor. A 20-year veteran in motorsports media, including press officer roles in both the FIA Sportscar Championship and at Lola Group, Smith is a well-known face in the Formula E paddock, where he served as series editor for from 2014-17. Contact Sam

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Avatar

    Nicolas Naves

    March 17, 2018 at 2:51 pm

    Thanks for the quick update!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Formula E