Connect with us

Formula E

Vergne Becomes First Repeat Winner in Controlling Run

DS Techeetah driver takes over points lead with second win of ABB FIA Formula E season…

Photo: DS Techeetah

Jean-Eric Vergne has become the first repeat winner of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship season following a controlling lights-to-flag drive in Saturday’s Monaco E-Prix.

The defending series champion, who started on pole, edged out Oliver Rowland and Felipe Massa for his second win in the last four races for DS Techeetah, taking over the championship lead in the process.

It came in a relatively uneventful 45-minute plus one-lap race compared to recent incident-filled and red-flag plagued E-Prixs.

Rowland, who set the quickest time in Super Pole but faced a three-place grid penalty for contact in last month’s Paris E-Prix, ran a clean race and managed to reduce the gap to Vergne in closing laps to 0.201 seconds at the line.

The battle for third, however, proved to be the most spirited, with Massa holding off a hard-charging Pascal Wehrlein to claim his first career Formula E podium finish.

It was despite the Brazilian’s energy-depleted Venturi slowing on the final lap and repeated contact at the rear by Wehrlein, who utilized Attack Mode in the closing laps in an effort to get around Massa.

Sebastien Buemi, who entered the weekend undefeated on the streets of Monaco in Formula E competition, completed the top-five in the second of the Nissan e.dams entries.

An accident for Paris winner and former championship leader Robin Frijns resulted in one of a handful of yellow flags, with a Full Course Yellow deployed on Lap 29 for debris from Alex Lynn’s Jaguar and an accident for Maximilian Guenther.

Guenther and Frijns were among the five retirements in the race that also included Lucas di Grassi, who dropped out with left-front suspension damage on Lap 31.

It marked di Grassi’s first retirement of the season.

A right-rear tire issue from contact for Sam Bird on the final lap made it a race to forget for Envision Virgin Racing, which saw both of its Audi-powered entries fail to finish the race.

Both of the NIOs were also out of the points, with Oliver Turvey retiring on Lap 32.

Antonio Felix da Costa came home sixth, ahead of Mitch Evans, who lost his front-row start due to a ten-position grid penalty but managed to rally to a seventh place result ahead of Daniel Abt, Andre Lotterer and Alex Lynn, who completed the top-ten.

Lynn, in his third race for Jaguar, finished with a damage front wing.

RESULTS: Monaco E-Prix

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of e-racing365. Dagys, who launched the industry-leading Sportscar365 in 2013, spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for Channel, and contributes to other publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Formula E