Connect with us

Formula E

Two TBA Slots on Marrakesh Rookie Test Entry

Entry list for this weekend’s Marrakesh rookie test released…

Photo: Formula E

The entry list for this weekend’s ABB FIA Formula E Championship rookie test in Marrakesh has been released, with all but two driver spaces filled.

The NIO team is yet to confirm a partner to Jamie Chadwick for the test on Sunday, Jan. 13 and is understood to be considering a single-car entry.

However, e-racing365 understands that Jake Hughes and Alexandre Imperatori are believed to be possibilities for a second seat should the team elect to run both of its NIO Sport 004 machines.

Hughes, a GP3 race winner last season, tested for the team last year and is known to be keen on forging a career in the all-electric series.

Imperatori, meanwhile, is a long-time tester for NIO’s road cars and also made an appearance at the corresponding Marrakesh rookie test last year.

The deadline for nominated drivers was last Friday but e-racing365 understands that NIO could still be allowed to register a second driver this week.

In addition, GEOX Dragon Racing will run its official test and reserve driver Antonio Fuoco in Marrakesh alongside a driver whose identity is yet to be confirmed.

E-racing365 understands that the team has held talks with ex-Formula 1 driver Felipe Nasr before Christmas, although it remains to be seen if the Brazilian will join Fuoco for the test.

The final entry list includes all previously-announced drivers, including Benoit Treluyer and Nyck de Vries who were confirmed by Envision Virgin Racing this morning.

Also present will be F1 refugee Sergey Sirotkin for his debut in the Gen 2 car, former DTM winners Marco Wittmann and Bruno Spengler, and Blancpain GT Series champion Raffaele Marciello.

Sam Smith contributed to this report

Marrakesh Test Entry List

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler – Nico Mueller, Jamie Green
DS Techeetah – James Rossiter, Tatiana Calderon
Mahindra Racing –  Sam Dejonghe, Sergey Sirotkin
Envision Virgin Racing – Nyck de Vries, Benoit Treluyer
Nissan e.dams – Jann Mardenborough, Mitsunori Takaboshi
Panasonic Jaguar Racing –  Pietro Fittipaldi, Harry Tincknell
Venturi – Norman Nato, Arthur Leclerc
NIO – Jamie Chadwick, TBA
GEOX Dragon – Antonio Fuoco, TBA
BMW i Andretti Motorsport – Bruno Spengler, Marco Wittmann
HWA Racelab – Daniel Juncadella, Raffaele Marciello

The latest news, photos, videos and more from the trusted e-racing365 web staff.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Avatar

    Kris G.

    January 7, 2019 at 12:37 pm

    I’ve to learn more about some names, there is a new generation of drivers that I’m not aware of.
    The name I’m looking for isn’t in the list yet. Eager to see Alonso take some laps in the new 2 Gen car as he’s linked with a possible 2019/20 seat…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Formula E