Connect with us

Formula E

Season Five Schedule Revealed

Calendar for Season Five of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship confirmed…

Photo: Formula E

The provisional Season Five schedule for the ABB FIA Formula E Championship was released on Thursday, featuring 13 races on the 2018-19 calendar that is set to kick off in Riyadh in December.

Issued at the World Motor Sport Council in Manila, the the FIA confirmed a Dec. 15 date for the inaugural Riyadh E-Prix, which was announced last month.

Marrakesh will return to the calendar for the third consecutive season, scheduled for Jan. 12, followed by a TBA event on Jan. 26, which is likely to be a return to Santiago.

The race is anticipated to take place on an alternative venue to the Parque Forestal circuit, which held the inaugural race in the Chilean capital in February.

Mexico City also returns, but with a mid-February date, followed by the Hong Kong E-Prix, which has been moved from December to March and in a single-race event.

Plans to have a race in China on the island of Hainan are looking more unlikely, as reported by e-racing365, but a TBA Chinese race is scheduled for Mar. 23.

The European leg begins with the second Rome E-Prix in mid-April, along with rounds in Paris and Monaco, with the layout for the Monaco race yet to be confirmed but rumored to be a revised, longer layout than used last year.

Berlin retains its E-Prix for a fourth event in May ahead of the second Zurich E-Prix, with New York again closing out the season with a double-header round on July 13-14.

Sao Paulo, which was set to host a round in Season Four, does not currently feature on the calendar, with a possible race in Moscow or a second event in Germany, possibly in Munich, having also been discussed but unlikely to become reality until Season Six at the earliest.

The official status of possible races in Copenhagen and Birmingham, meanwhile, are currently unknown.

2018-19 ABB FIA Formula E Championship Calendar:

Riyadh E-Prix – Dec. 15
Marrakesh E-Prix – Jan. 12
TBA – Jan. 26
Mexico City E-Prix – Feb. 16
Hong Kong E-Prix – March 10
TBA (China) – March 23
Rome E-Prix – April 13
Paris E-Prix – April 27
Monaco E-Prix – May 11
Berlin E-Prix – May 25
Zurich E-Prix – June 9
New York City E-Prix – July 13-14 (double header)

Sam Smith is e-racing365's Formula E Editor. A 20-year veteran in motorsports media, including press officer roles in both the FIA Sportscar Championship and at Lola Group, Smith is a well-known face in the Formula E paddock, where he served as series editor for from 2014-17. Contact Sam

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. krisg

    June 7, 2018 at 7:23 am

    Everyone is expecting the Monaco ePrix to use the F1 layout. AT least it’s what was promises by Agag after Buemi and DiGrassi expressed that in their opinion the championship should use the F1 layout…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Formula E