Connect with us

Formula E

New Jaguar I-Type 4 Revealed

Jaguar says it has made a range of positive changes to its new I-Type 4…

Photo: Panasonic Jaguar Racing

Jaguar has revealed its new challenger for the 2019-20 ABB FIA Formula E Championship season, the I-Type 4.

The car will be driven by Mitch Evans and James Calado and features a new motor and gearbox, while its inverter, rear suspension and dampers have also been refreshed.

Panasonic Jaguar Racing has described the new car as its “lightest and most efficient powertrain the team has ever produced”.

A lower center of gravity has also been achieved with the new model which was project led by technical manager Phil Charles.

In addition to Charles there sits a concept group, head of simulation and mechanical design, composites and powertrain managers, as well as design office manager Patrick Coorey who formerly engineered Nelson Piquet Jr before switching to an office based role at the start of 2019.

The I-Type 4 also features a new vehicle control module, which increases the processing capacity and allows faster rate of software development, on the powertrain.

“We have applied all of our experience in Formula E to date and our latest innovations into the new race car and the development team have created what we believe will be our most competitive Formula E car to date,” said James Barclay, Panasonic Jaguar Racing’s director.

“We’ve learnt how to win as a team and we are hungry for more in Season Six. We can’t wait to get racing!”

The new car completed two days of testing at Calafat last week and will run again at the Formula E promoter’s test in Valencia later this month.

Jaguar will continue its association with Ho-Pin Tung who has been with the team as a development driver since its inception in 2016.

Jaguar Announces Trio of New Partners

Jaguar has unveiled three new high-profile partners to its team for its fourth campaign.

Castrol, LEGO and Scalextric have all agreed partnerships with the manufacturer for the 2019-20 campaign.

Castrol returns to Jaguar’s motorsport activities after a near 30-year absence. The oil and lubricants brand partnered with the then British-owned manufacturer in its Group C program of the 1980s and 1990s.

A Castrol-liveried Jaguar XJR-12 driven by Jan Lammers, Davy Jones and Andy Wallace took victory in the 1990 Daytona 24 Hours.

Castrol’s new e-fluids range will be used to further develop advanced technology and e-fluids for the I-PACE and future roadgoing Jaguars.

Toy manufacturers LEGO Group and Scalextric have also joined the Formula E team. Scaled versions of both the Formula E car and the Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY will be available to buy early next year.

Sam Smith is e-racing365's Formula E Editor. A 20-year veteran in motorsports media, including press officer roles in both the FIA Sportscar Championship and at Lola Group, Smith is a well-known face in the Formula E paddock, where he served as series editor for from 2014-17. Contact Sam

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Formula E