Connect with us

Formula E

Mercedes, Porsche Granted Season Six Homologations

Mercedes-Benz and Porsche have had homologations confirmed for Season Six…

Photo: Formula E

Mercedes-Benz and Porsche have been granted homologations for entries in Season Six of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship, the FIA has announced.

The full list sees eleven manufacturers confirmed, with the two German manufacturers joining Audi, BMW, DS, Jaguar, Mahindra, NIO, Penske, Nissan and Venturi constructors.

The list also confirmed the switch in names of ABT and Renault to Audi and Nissan, respectively.

All the manufacturers are now registered and confirmed for the championship until the end of the seventh season which will come to a conclusion in the summer of 2021.

Both Porsche and Mercedes will receive information and parts from the FIA suppliers, including Spark Technologies and McLaren Applied Technologies, with the same timetable as the existing manufacturers whose cars were approved in the first year of the rules cycle.

“The future landscape of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship is growing more and more, and today as we confirm two additional manufacturers for the sixth season we have more evidence of the success of this concept,” said FIA President Jean Todt.

Porsche will enter its factory team next year for the sixth season in 2019-20 and has had personnel attending the majority of the races this season.

“Over the past few years, the FIA and Alejandro Agag have done a fantastic job”, said Porsche’s Fritz Enzinger, Vice President of its Formula E program.

“It is due to this development that we will be able to compete on the race track against many of the world’s largest car manufacturers.”

Mercedes is currently discussing whether its Formula E program will be run from its UK bases in Brackley and Brixworth or from HWA’s premises in Affalterbach, Germany.

A HWA team is expected to compete in Formula E from the start of next season in order to gain as much knowledge as possible before its becomes a full-blown Mercedes-Benz entry at the end of 2019.

HWA is believed to be planning an entry for season five with a Venturi powertrain which is being designed and built by the ZF Group.

“If you had said to me then that we would be in double figures in terms of recognisable names in the world of motorsport, biggest road car manufacturers and automotive brands – I would have said you were crazy,” said Formula E Founder and CEO Alejandro Agag.

“But this is the reality now. Combine this with the ever-growing list of partners joining the electric racing revolution and it’s clear that the ABB FIA Formula E Championship is a very exciting place to be in motorsport.”

Sam Smith is e-racing365's Formula E Editor. A 20-year veteran in motorsports media, including press officer roles in both the FIA Sportscar Championship and at Lola Group, Smith is a well-known face in the Formula E paddock, where he served as series editor for from 2014-17. Contact Sam

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Formula E