Connect with us

Formula E

Lotterer Gives Porsche First Formula E Pole in Mexico City

Andre Lotterer takes Porsche to pole on its first Super Pole appearance in Mexico…

Photo: Formula E

Porsche scored its first Formula E pole position on Saturday afternoon with Andre Lotterer taking it to the front of the grid in qualifying for the Mexico City E-Prix.

The German driver set a Super Pole time of 1:07.922 to score not only Porsche’s first pole in the ABB FIA Formula E Championship, but do so on its first Super Pole appearance.

The manufacturer joined the electric single-seater championship this season and competes today in its fourth race.

Lotterer beat Mitch Evans to top honors by 0.063 seconds, denying the Panasonic Jaguar Racing driver a second consecutive first-place start.

Pascal Wehrlein set the third quickest time in Super Pole but he and his Mahindra Racing teammate Jerome d’Ambrosio were both given grid penalties for gearbox changes earlier in the day, moving them to the back of the field.

Fourth-fastest driver Nyck de Vries will therefore start from third for Mercedes-Benz EQ, ahead of Sebastien Buemi and Sam Bird.

Bird’s teammate Robin Frijns will start from sixth as the quickest driver not to make it through to Super Pole, ahead of GEOX Dragon’s Nico Mueller.

DS Techeetah’s Jean-Eric Vergne and Antonio Felix da Costa will line up eighth and ninth, with reigning champion Vergne expressing anger at brake issues over the team radio.

Championship leader Stoffel Vandoorne will start from tenth, while BMW i Andretti Motorsport’s drivers, both of whom have won races so far this season, are 16th (Max Guenther) and 18th (Alexander Sims).

Daniel Abt was taken to hospital after his crash in Free Practice 1. Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler is in the process of repairing his car and is working to get the German out for the race, although he did not qualifying.

The issue that caused his car to go into the barriers, prematurely ending the first session of the day, was a software communication issue that has since been fixed on the field’s three other Audi e-tron FE06s.

The race will get underway at 4 p.m. local time (5 p.m. EST / 10 p.m. GMT).

RESULTS: Qualifying

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist who is e-racing365's Managing Editor and also European Editor for Sportscar365. He is a student of Politics and International Relations at the University of Birmingham. Contact Jake

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


More in Formula E