Connect with us

Formula E

Evans Claims Diriyah I-PACE eTROPHY Pole

Simon Evans will start the first Jaguar IPACE eTROPHY of the 2019-20 season from pole…..

Photo: Jaguar

Simon Evans took the first Jaguar I-PACE eTROPHY pole of the 2019-20 season ahead of this afternoon’s opening round in Diriyah.

The Kiwi, who won the first-ever eTROPHY race last December, peaked on a best time of 1:34.744 in a session which was shortened by five minutes to amend today’s packed timetable.

Team Asia New Zealand driver Evans headed reigning champion Sergio Jimenez by 0.25 seconds.

But there was some consternation after the session as some teams claimed not to be aware of the change in the shortened track time available.

Guest driver Abbie Eaton took third on the grid after setting a 1:35.195 lap despite having never previously driven the all-electric SUV ahead of yesterday’s practice session.

Alice Powell was just shy of Eaton’s time and starts fourth as she embarks on a full season with the Team Germany entered car.

Pro-Am class pole honors went to the No.9 Jaguar China Racing car of Yaqi Zhang. This was despite Zhang tagging the wall early in the session and forcing him to pit for repairs.

Racing returnee Mario Haberfeld placed eighth out of the ten entries in the second Team Brazil I-PACE.

Former British F3 champion Haberfeld is making his first competitive racing appearance for a decade as he replaces Caca Bueno who is on Brazilian Stock Car duty at Goainia.

Friday’s 25-minute + one lap race gets underway at 13.05. local time.

RESULTS: Qualifying

Sam Smith is e-racing365's Formula E Editor. A 20-year veteran in motorsports media, including press officer roles in both the FIA Sportscar Championship and at Lola Group, Smith is a well-known face in the Formula E paddock, where he served as series editor for from 2014-17. Contact Sam

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Formula E