Connect with us

Formula E

Full Rookie Test Lineup Revealed

All drivers now revealed for next weekend’s Marrakesh rookie test…

Photos: Jaguar, Envision Virgin, Mahindra

All Formula E teams have now announced their drivers for next weekend’s rookie test in Marrakesh, with the final announcements coming in on Friday morning.

Each team will field two rookie drivers in the test day on Sunday, March 1, amounting to a total of 24 participants. A number of them have previously driven Formula E cars, but none have competed in races.

Several drivers were announced earlier in the week: Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler’s Kelvin van der Linde and Mattia Drudi, GEOX Dragon’s Joel Eriksson, Envision Virgin Racing’s Alice Powell, Porsche’s Fred Makowiecki and Thomas Preining, Panasonic Jaguar Racing’s Jamie Chadwick and Mahindra Racing’s Pipo Derani and Sam Dejonghe.

Mercedes-Benz EQ has placed its GT driver Daniel Juncadella in one car alongside Formula 3 driver Jake Hughes, while BMW i Andretti Motorsport will run its new DTM signing Lucas Auer and Andretti Indy Lights driver Kyle Kirkwood.

GEOX Dragon has completed its lineup with DAMS Formula 2 driver Sergio Sette Camara, who takes on a similar test and reserve role to Joel Eriksson, who joined the team on Wednesday.

ROKiT Venturi Racing’s test and reserve drivers Norman Nato and Arthur Leclerc have been confirmed at the Monegasque team, while Nissan e.dams has gone down a similar route with its sim and development drivers Mitsunori Takaboshi and Jann Mardenborough.

NIO 333 has signed 18-year-old Chinese driver Daniel Cao to a new development driver role, with Antonio Fuoco also set to take part in the test for the Chinese operation.

DS Techeetah will field sports car regular Filipe Albuquerque in one of its cars, with test and development driver James Rossiter in the other.

Jaguar and Envision Virgin were two of the first teams to announce drivers, with Jamie Chadwick and Alice Powell, respectively, but both have now completed their pairings.

Sacha Fenestraz will test the second Jaguar I-Type 4, while Nick Cassidy will drive the other Envision Virgin Audi.

Marrakesh Rookie Test Entry List

Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler – Kelvin van der Linde, Mattia Drudi
BMW i Andretti Motorsport – Lucas Auer, Kyle Kirkwood
DS Techeetah – James Rossiter, Filipe Albuquerque
Envision Virgin Racing – Alice Powell, Nick Cassidy
GEOX Dragon – Joel Eriksson, Sergio Sette Camara
Mahindra Racing – Pipo Derani, Sam Dejonghe
Mercedes-Benz EQ – Daniel Juncadella, Jake Hughes
NIO 333 – Daniel Cao, Antonio Fuoco
Nissan e.dams – Mitsunori Takaboshi, Jann Mardenborough
Panasonic Jaguar Racing – Jamie Chadwick, Sacha Fenestraz
TAG Heuer Porsche – Fred Makowiecki, Thomas Preining
ROKiT Venturi Racing – Norman Nato, Arthur Leclerc

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist who is e-racing365's Managing Editor and also European Editor for Sportscar365. He is a student of Politics and International Relations at the University of Birmingham. Contact Jake

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


More in Formula E