Connect with us

Formula E

Frijns Wins Race 2; Vergne Crowned Champion in NYC

Robin Frijns wins Race 2 as Jean-Eric Vernge crowned Formula E champion…

Photo: Audi

Envision Virgin Racing’s Robin Frijns has claimed victory in a hard-fought New York City E-Prix, as Jean-Eric Vergne became the first two-time Formula E champion Sunday in Brooklyn.

A bold move around the pole-sitting BMW i Andretti Motorsport entry of Alexander Sims on Lap 16 saw Frijns stretch out to a lead en route to his second win of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship season.

A 7th place finish, however, was good enough for Vergne to become back-to-back champion in the all-electric series following an up-and-down double-header weekend.

The Frenchman, who started 12th on Sunday, drove a conservative race after multiple incidents in Race 1 dropped him out of the points and saw his championship lead reduced.

Heading into Sunday’s final 45-minute plus one-lap race of the season with a 22-point lead over Lucas di Grassi, Vergne kept the Brazilian in check for most of the race.

A clash between di Grassi and Mitch Evans, while battling for seventh on the final lap, saw di Grassi fail to finish the race.

Evans crossed the line in 14th before getting a post-race time penalty for the incident.

DS Techeetah, meanwhile, held onto the teams’ championship despite an early race retirement for Andre Lotterer.

Lotterer’s DS E-Tense FE19 sustained suspension damage in a clash with Jose Maria Lopez on the third lap, which led to the race’s only safety car period to retrieve Lopez’s stricken GEOX Dragon entry.

It left Vergne to fly the flag for the Chinese-entered team, which won the teams’ title over Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler.

Sims, meanwhile, held off a hard-charging Sebastien Buemi to claim his first career podium in second.

San Bird made it two Audi-powered Envision Virgin entries in the top-four, with Daniel Abt completing the top-five in the leading factory Audi.

Oliver Rowland escaped the last-lap carnage to come home sixth in his Nissan ahead of repeat champion Vergne.

Stoffel Vandoorne, Antonio Felix da Costa and Gary Paffett, meanwhile, completed the top-ten in the action-packed season finale.

Alex Lynn rebounded from drive-through penalty for an overnight MGU change to come home 12th, having benefited by the early safety car.

RESULTS: Sunday New York City E-Prix 

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of e-racing365. Dagys, who launched the industry-leading Sportscar365 in 2013, spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for Channel, and contributes to other publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Formula E