Connect with us

Formula E

Evans Beats Guenther to Santiago Pole

Mitch Evans banks pole for Jaguar with rapid lap as last driver in Super Pole…

Photo: Jaguar

Mitch Evans will start this afternoon’s Santiago E-Prix from pole position after setting a flyer at the very end of Super Pole at the Parque O’Higgins circuit.

The Panasonic Jaguar Racing driver secured his second ever ABB FIA Formula E Championship pole with a time of 1:04.827, beating Max Guenther by almost three-tenths.

BMW i Andretti Motorsport’s Guenther had a chance of picking up his maiden Formula E pole after a surprisingly slow time from Sebastien Buemi, but Evans’ time eclipsed the field as the last driver to head out in Super Pole.

Guenther will start from second and is understood to have set a legal lap time despite television footage appearing to show him crossing the pit exit line after the light had turned red. It’s believed he did, in fact, exit the pit lane in time.

Pascal Wehrlein will line up third for Mahindra Racing alongside Felipe Massa, while Oliver Turvey and Buemi complete the third row of the grid.

A heavy crash for Oliver Rowland during the first qualifying group session prevented the Nissan e.dams driver from setting a representative time and puts his team in a race against the clock to repair his Nissan IM02 in time for the race.

Lucas di Grassi was caught up in that incident, initially losing a little time while avoiding the Brit but then ruining his flying lap by going wide at Turn 9.

In Qualifying 2, Robin Frijns recovered from a spin on his flying lap, and Edoardo Mortara did appear to have his pace compromized by the Dutchman rejoining the track, but Mortara nevertheless went on to set the quickest time yet at that stage.

Frijns, Rowland, di Grassi all failed to set representative times and will start from the back of the grid, along with Jerome d’Ambrosio who had a problem on his Mahindra car.

Championship leader Alexander Sims was unable to make it four pole positions in a row and settled for 15th on the grid, meawhile.

The race will get underway at 4 p.m. local time (2 p.m. EST / 7 p.m. GMT).

RESULTS: Qualifying

Jake Kilshaw is a UK-based journalist who is e-racing365's Managing Editor and also European Editor for Sportscar365. He is a student of Politics and International Relations at the University of Birmingham. Contact Jake

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


More in Formula E