Connect with us

Formula E

Di Resta, Fittipaldi Get Jaguar Formula E Rookie Test Running

Paul di Resta to make his Formula E test debut in Marrakesh next week at Jaguar…

Photo: Mercedes

Ex-Formula 1 driver Paul di Resta and World Series Formula V8 3.5 champion Pietro Fittipaldi will test for Jaguar at next weekend’s Formula E Rookie Test in Marrakesh.

As reported by e-racing365 last month, Fittipaldi will enjoy running behind the Jaguar I-TYPE 2 car at the Circuit International Automobile Moulay El Hassan next Sunday following the Marrakesh E-Prix one day earlier.

The Brazilian will be joined by Mercedes factory racer di Resta, who raced in F1 with Force India between 2011 and 2013 before making a surprise stand-in appearance at Williams at last year’s Hungarian Grand Prix.

Di Resta has raced full-time in DTM with Mercedes since 2014, but with the German marque set to leave the series at the end of the year ahead of an entry to Formula E, the Briton has previously expressed an interest in the electric championship.

“I am really looking forward to my first taste of Formula E and the Jaguar I-TYPE 2. It is a perfect opportunity, at the right time of year to have a go,” di Resta said.

“It is great to start a relationship with Panasonic Jaguar Racing. It will be an intensive day of testing in Marrakesh but I’m sure I can give some positive feedback to the team.”

Fittipaldi’s test adds to his growing experience in racing, having recently sampled the Porsche 919 Hybrid LMP1 car as a prize for his Formula 3.5 title victory in Bahrain at the end of November.

“I’m very happy and grateful for the opportunity Panasonic Jaguar Racing has given me to test the Jaguar I-TYPE 2,” said Fittipaldi.

“I have always followed Formula E closely since the first tests with the car at Donnington. So I am really looking forward to driving the car and with Jaguar’s heritage in racing it is a very special privilege.”

Marrakesh Test Entry List

Audi: Nico Muller, Nyck de Vries
Renault: Alexander Albon, Mitsunori Takaboshi
DS Virgin: Antonio Giovinazzi, Joel Eriksson
Mahindra: Daniel Juncadella, Sam Dejonghe
NIO: Harry Tincknell, TBA
Jaguar: Pietro Fittipaldi, Paul Di Resta
Techeetah: Frederic Makowiecki, James Rossiter
Venturi: Michael Benyahia, TBA
Dragon: Maximilian Gunther, Andrea Caldarelli
Andretti: Colton Herta, Bruno Spengler

Italics – Yet to be officially confirmed
TBA – To Be Announced

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Formula E