Connect with us

Formula E

Abt Claims Long-Awaited First Win in Mexico

Daniel Abt scores Audi’s first victory in ABB FIA Formula E Championship in Mexico…

Photo: Formula E

Daniel Abt has scored a long-awaited maiden ABB FIA Formula E Championship victory in the Mexico City E-Prix, giving Audi its first win in the all-electric championship.

Quick pit work by the Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler crew was key to the German’s win on Saturday, with Abt getting around the then-leading NIO entry of Oliver Turvey following the mid-race car change on Lap 23 of the 47-lap race.

Abt, who gained an impressive six seconds between the in and out laps, stretched his lead in the closing stages as Turvey and Sebastien Buemi battled for second.

The Audi e-tron FE04 crossed the line 6.398 seconds ahead of NextEV NIO Sport 003 of Turvey, who held off a hard-charging Buemi for his first podium finish in the series.

It marked Abt’s first victory in the championship, three months after he was stripped of top honors in Hong Kong due to a technical infringement in Race 2.

Nelson Piquet Jr. finished fourth on Saturday, ahead of Jean-Eric Vergne, who extended his championship lead to 12 points over Felix Rosenqvist after the Swede retired.

Rosenqvist led the opening 14 laps from pole until stopping on track with a suspected powertrain-related problem, before rejoining in 20th.

A further two shut-offs and restarts resulted in Rosenqvist swapping cars early and ultimately calling it quits on Lap 34, seven laps after Mahindra Racing teammate Nick Heidfeld also retired with power issues.

Rosenqvist’s misfortunes handed the lead briefly to Turvey, who held point until the round of pit stops.

Mitch Evans came home sixth for Panasonic Jaguar Racing, with Antonio Felix da Costa, who lost his front row start due to a post-Super Pole weight infringement, finishing seventh.

Edoardo Mortara was eighth in the best of the Venturi Formula E entries after teammate Maro Engel faded late.

Reigning champion Lucas di Grassi, meanwhile, scored his first points of the year in 9th, after starting from dead last on the grid and suffering a collision with Jose Maria Lopez.

The Brazilian was credited with three points, after setting the race’s fastest lap.

RESULTS: Mexico City E-Prix

John Dagys is the founder and Editor-in-Chief of e-racing365. Dagys, who launched the industry-leading Sportscar365 in 2013, spent eight years as a motorsports correspondent for Channel, and contributes to other publications worldwide. Contact John

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Formula E