Connect with us

Formula E

ABB Selects New CEO

Björn Rosengren to become new CEO of Formula E title partner ABB next year…

Photo: Formula E

Björn Rosengren will become the new chief executive officer of Formula E title partner ABB, having been unanimously appointed by the board of the Swedish/Swiss company.

The former Sandvik CEO will begin his tenure with ABB on Feb. 1, 2020 and succeed temporary CEO Peter Voser on March 1. Voser will then revert to his position at ABB as chairman of the board.

Sixty-year-old Rosengren was widely tipped to follow on from Ulrich Spiesshofer whose surprise move from ABB was announced in April.

ABB signed a long-term title partnership deal with Formula E in late 2017 and the series has been branded as such since the 2018 Marrakesh E-Prix.

Rosengren is an experienced international executive and has been the leader of several industrial businesses during his career.

During his time as CEO of high-tech global engineering group Sandvik, he has overseen the successful implementation of a decentralized structure and improved the company’s profitability and financial strength.

Prior to that, he was CEO of Wärtsilä Corporation, which manufactures and services power sources and other equipment for the marine and energy markets, and previously spent some thirteen years in a variety of management roles at Atlas Copco, a world leading provider of sustainable productivity solutions.

“I am honored to have the opportunity to join ABB, a truly global technology leader, after I have completed my current commitments,” said Rosengren.

“At such a pivotal time for manufacturing industries, ABB must continue to best serve the needs of global customers with a unique technology and digital solutions portfolio to help enhance their productivity.

“I look forward to working with my new colleagues around the globe to enhance value through the delivery of the group strategy and fully empowering our businesses and people.”

Formula E is also set to name a new CEO in the coming weeks.

E-racing365 revealed last month that LA Rams and former Manchester United exec Jamie Reigle is in line to take over the role which was vacated by now Formula E chairman Alejandro Agag.

Sam Smith is e-racing365's Formula E Editor. A 20-year veteran in motorsports media, including press officer roles in both the FIA Sportscar Championship and at Lola Group, Smith is a well-known face in the Formula E paddock, where he served as series editor for from 2014-17. Contact Sam

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Formula E